Halle Berry net worth 2022: How wealthy is this Oscar winner who once lived in a homeless shelter?

halle-berry-net-worth-2022-how-wealthy-is-this-oscar-winner-who-once-lived-in-a-homeless-shelter HOLLYWOOD, CA - OCTOBER 24: Actress Halle Berry arrives at Warner Bros. Pictures' 'Cloud Atlas' premiere at Grauman's Chinese Theatre on October 24, 2012 in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

A career spanning over 30 years, Halle Berry has achieved success on both the big screen and on television. She has appeared as Catwoman, won an Oscar, and co-starred in a James Bond film. At age 55, Berry is a multimillionaire.

Berry’s current net worth, according to Celebrity Net Worth, is $90 million. Examine the gradual accumulation of her wealth over the years.

Berry did not have a silver spoon placed in her mouth at birth. When her parents split when she was four years old, she began living alone with her mother.

She began competing in beauty contests in the 1980s. She rose to prominence in 1986 when she placed second in Miss USA, one of the most prestigious beauty contests in the world.

Her career as a model began after she won the contest.

Berry’s acting career began in 1989. In the same year, she was cast in the ABC comedy series “Living Dolls.” She was cast in the 1991 Spike Lee picture “Jungle Fever.”

In 1992, she made her cinematic debut in the romantic comedy “Boomerang” starring Eddie Murphy.

Early in her career, Berry experienced obstacles similar to those faced by other performers. She disclosed in 2017 that she had resided in a homeless shelter only months after moving to New York City to pursue her ambition of being an actor.

Halle Berry said on “The Jess Cagle Interview:”

“Three months later, I was out of my cash. I called my mother and asked her to send me some money, and she said no, and that subsequently led to a year of not speaking to her because I was so upset that she wouldn’t help me.”

She stated that the event helped shape her into the person she is today. Berry added:

“It was [to] prove to her and everybody else. It took me right back to my high school years. ‘You say I can’t, watch me. I’m going to figure this out.’ And shelter life was part of figuring it out for a minute until I could get a waitressing job. Then I got a bartending job, and until I could figure that out, that’s what I did.”

Today, Berry is regarded as one of the most gifted and bankable performers in Hollywood. She has appeared in a number of successful films, including “Swordfish,” “Die Another Day,” and “Gothika.”

She received the Academy Award for Best Actress in 2002 for her performance in “Monster’s Ball.”

In the 2000s, Berry was one of the highest-paid performers. Currently, she makes between $10 and $12 million for each blockbuster film role.