Ormoc City Mayor Richard Gomez tests positive for COVID-19, asks Ormocanons to stay safe and vigilant

(Photo taken from Richard Gomez's Official Instagram Account)

Ormoc City Mayor Richard Gomez has contracted the SARS-CoV-2 that causes the COVID-19 disease.

In a statement released on Saturday, July 17, the local executive confirmed that he has tested positive for COVID-19. Gomez said symptoms are mild and manageable.

While Gomez assured his constituents that he is fine, the actor-turned-politician revealed that he needs a lot of rest and will be in isolation until he feels better. Mayor Gomez asked all Ormocanons to continue to be vigilant and safe as the world continues to face the perils brought by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I tested positive for Covid. It could be my exposure from multiple people because of work I do as a mayor. But I will be ok. I will need a lot of rest and will have to be in isolation until I’m better. Symptoms are mild and manageable and will go back to work as soon as doctors will give the clearance. I ask everyone to continue to be vigilant and safe.”

Richard Gomez, Ormoc City Mayor

Meanwhile, Ormoc City has recorded a total of 214 active cases of COVID-19 as of July 15, 2021. The city health office logged a total of 2,028 cases, 32 deaths, and 1,782 recoveries since the fatal virus first slipped into the city.